Amp suggestion?

cje

Inspired
Hey, everyone.

I’ve been diving deep into my first kitchen sink preset which is based around two amps - the Two Stone J35 and the Vibrato Verb Custom. The Two Stone is the cleaner of the two, and I use that most of the time with a few drives in front of it. The VVC I often use with no extra drive pedals and just turn the guitar volume up a bit (or a lot). I’m switching between the two with a per-preset override switch that controls the multiplexer. I’m just starting out in the Fractal world and have a lot of questions, but for now I’m just looking for some amp suggestions as an alternative to the Vibrato Verb Custom. This has proven to be one of my favorites, but it breaks up into its fantastic overdriven sound a little too easily for me. I’m wondering if there’s something very similar but with a bit more clean headroom that the amp gurus here might be able to point me toward?

Thanks.

Don’t mean to sound sarcastic here, but have you tried turning down the input gain and raising the level? If you’re happy with the sound but want less gain, this seems the logical solution. You can also turn down the input trim to do something similar.

While you're doing this, Cooper Carter has a quite cool couple of videos on this sort of thing.

For sure, I’ve tried gain staging. That’s something that I’ve always paid special attention to. Right now, gain is at 3 and level is at -4. I suppose I could go a bit more extreme, but everything else sits so well around there. I always set my presets up with my guitar volume knob between 6-7.

I can play with the gain staging a bit more, but would really appreciate an amp or 2 with similar characteristics, just more headroom - if it exists.