Advise needed...

underbrush

Hey everyone, I just joined and need some advise.

Some background....I've been playing around on the guitar for about 28 years and like to mess with everything from ambient space music to jazz to new metal. I do not play in a band any longer but do a lot of recording in the basement.

Here's the kicker....i have never owned or played through a tube amplifier... :oops:
My current amp is a Vox avt60 digital hybrid that I've had for years, and I have through a fair amount of tweaking, gotten some pretty decent recorded sounds out of it.

Just recently I decided to buy an all tube head / combo for recording and figured I'd spend anywhere from $1100 to $2000 depending on what I decided on. Then I stumbled on Axe-Fx and now I'm intrigued.

The big question.....does this thing really sound THAT good?? Or put another way, now that i've finally decided to blow the coin on an all tube amp should I get this instead?

I've listened to and watched the demos and youtube clips but what I want are testimonials from guys like you who have owned and played through high end gear. I love the idea of having lots of sonic options and this certainly seems to have it in spades.

Anyway sorry for the rambling post and thanks in advance for the help.

Does it sound that good... well yes it does.
Don't expect to unpack, plug in and find tonal nirvana first time!
Take your time to learn it, it's shitloads to learn.. trust me ;)
But sounds good.. definitive YES!

Do remember that that you need not only the Axe..
You need, Axe, power-amp, speaker, midi-board, expression pedal(s).. to start with ;)

Thanks for the response Burner,

I don't mind tweaking and searching, in fact I really enjoy it so the learning curve doesn't worry me. As long as the fabled "sound" and "feel" of the tube amps it models is there.