Acoustic, no preamp needed!

pima1234

Fractal Fanatic
I discovered something that surprised me. With my acoustic guitars, just running into and directly out of the FX8, there is no need for a preamp. And, this includes my guitars with passive pickups. Bit of a game changer for me!

Anyone else running acoustic this way?

This makes my desire for an updated version of the FX8 even stronger...

And yes, I was recently able to get an FM9. I just prefer the form and function of the FX8.

The timing of your post is perfect! I recently started playing my Taylor again, and setup a preset on my Ultra, which is great for this. But your post got me thinking of making a preset with the FX8 and eliminating the need to bring a foot controller.(FCB1010)
What's your preset look like? EQ, Comp, Reverb/Delay?

I agree with you that it would be nice to see an updated version of the FX8 but the FM9 pretty much is that but with more bells and whistles.

The timing of your post is perfect! I recently started playing my Taylor again, and setup a preset on my Ultra, which is great for this. But your post got me thinking of making a preset with the FX8 and eliminating the need to bring a foot controller.(FCB1010)
What's your preset look like? EQ, Comp, Reverb/Delay?

I agree with you that it would be nice to see an updated version of the FX8 but the FM9 pretty much is that but with more bells and whistles.
I think I started with a comp, then graphic eq (I am going to play around with that order), then chorus, delay, multi-tap, reverb, para eq, exciter. It's a work in progress.

So I made a preset with the GEQ, Comp to tone shape the piezo and was surprised at how well it sounded without the the use of an acoustic IR.