I constantly feel like I'm guessing with my Axe FX II

Status
Not open for further replies.
What Danny said. IME the two biggest mistakes are too much gain and too much gain. Beginners use way too much gain to cover up their lack of technical ability and then complain when it sounds lousy. Pros use far less gain than you think. By the time I had been playing professionally for 20 years I had the gain dialed back to 1/10 of what it was when I first started playing. With less gain you get a much more open and dynamic tone. It's only logical.

The more I gig, the less gain I use too. I have presets from a year ago that are so over-saturated that I'm amazed they ever worked for me. My "go to" gain sound was my "low gain crunch" sound a year ago. It's more dynamic, cuts through a mix, and is just overall better than my high gain patches.

Excellent write up Danny. It is a lot to ask but it would be an amazing resource if you made a tone sculpting instructional video where you demonstrate these tonal mistakes and then correct them so we can see and hear some concrete examples of the process.