I need help with my nuts.....

1poorplayer

Power User
Ahem , is there a doctor in the house ?
I'm a newbie in Stratland. I'm using Ernie's slinky balls ( 10's ) strings , and there's definitely some hangup on the nut. I want to be able to use the trem and keep pitch , and I believe I'll be able to , once the nut is properly cut.
I know stewmac and others have file sets , but before I buy any , I was hoping someone here had some insight on actual file size for a 10 guage string to slide thru , or technique in filing , or ?
One fellow said he just takes a slightly larger string and runs it back and forth in the slot to wallow it out , another said he files at a slant toward the headstock , instead of straight across.
Can anyone help me out ?

Been a player 30+ years, been making a living as a professional luthier for around 15. Here's my $0.02.

Just take it to someone who knows what they are doing. Nut filing is a complex art, ( width, graduation, ramping, profiles, depth, compound tapers) that while anyone can learn, you will NOT be doing a good job right out of the gate. If you want to learn lutherie, by all means learn it, but don't expect to be able to solve problems like that correctly over night.

Today you have an acute problem with your guitar. You can't just easily look up that knowledge you need and then put it into application. Pay someone to fix your problem TODAY so you can happily play guitar. Then start learning lutherie skills, so next time you need something done on your guitar to repair it, you have a shot at fixing it yourself successfully.

Well , OK. You're being honest. Thank you.
I've worked on every part of a guitar except the nut.
Been playing over 30 years myself. First strat. Never had to to mess with one before , other than putting a little crazy glue in one that was cut too deep - from the factory , when I was about 20 years old.
My local LUTHIER isn't really local.