The Ultra Sounds Too Good

steadystate

Fractal Fanatic
I've been using the Ultra live for a couple of months now after rejoining the music scene (I used a Roland VG-88 before). Several of my friends and family members have commented that the guitar now has a clarity it previously lacked. Some in particular told me the Axe sounds so clear and distinct (even high-gain tones) that it now stands out from the rest of the band mix, perhaps too much. They say it sounds awesome and have no specific complaints (not too bright, not too thin, not too loud, can't find any fault, sounds just right), but they think it doesn't sit in the mix like my old rig did.

I've listened to the board mixes, stood in front of the PA, and hear the band through my IEMs. The Axe sounds so much better than the VG-88 (which they are used to hearing) that, while I disagree with their assessment, I can understand it. The other guitarists use Line 6 patches that sound like mushed-out oversaturated crap. The mic bleed from the drums is horrible. The rest of the mix sounds smeared compared to the Axe. So now we have an album-quality guitar tone on top of a so-so band mix.

So what to do? I ask them for suggestions and all they can say is something like "the rest of the mix needs to sound better so it can blend with the guitar". I say "Cliff rocks".

Good equipment always wins. Obviously the equipment of the other musicians can't compete with yours. But you have to accept that your tone is just part of the whole mix and it should sound like all belongs together. So maybe you should - although it might sound insane - think about crapping up your sound a little. It's still possible to create a crappy sound with the Axes.