Graphic EQ to tighten up amp for Metal - Standards?

hunter

Experienced
Although I've been playing for almost 20 years, I'm not very experienced in achieving Metal Tones.

I think it helps a lot to use a GEQ for tightening up amps like the Recto New or the Ueber. Recto seems a bit muddy in the lower mids, Ueber too much in the low end, Das Metal a bit too fizzy in the high mids.

Are there any standard frequencies and what they do?

Frequencies in the GEQ are:

What are your standard usages of those to make amps tight and big for Metal?

hmm.. i personally try to not use eq if i dont have to... try a tubescreamer in front of the amp to tighten it up... andy sneap is known for doing this on cd's he's produced.

dpeterson said:
hmm.. i personally try to not use eq if i dont have to... try a tubescreamer in front of the amp to tighten it up... andy sneap is known for doing this on cd's he's produced.

interesting question.. well, a tubescreamer basically cuts a fair amount of bass from the signal and boosts the mids slightly (or not so slightly), so you might just cut a little bass with the GEQ (up to 125 and also try the 250 band, which are mids already..).
Or try a filter block and use your own center frequency to cut a little bass..
a tight metal guitar sound needs fairly little bass i guess, as the drums and bass in metal music are really fat in that range already..

or sumthin.. :)

Don't wanna stray too much from the original topic, but I usually get what I want from messing with different cabs and mics combinations. If I were to use an EQ for tightening, I'd suggest trying it with the whole mix. Maybe there are low end freqs messing with the bass guitar and so on..

BTW, there is a guide/tutorial on the wiki somewhere on this particular subject.

and btw, would a tubescreamer in front of a higain amp really help tightening it up? I'm not saying it won't I just never thought about trying it, doesn't sound logical to me =)

danielodland said: