Favorite software amp sims?

vejichan

Inspired
For those using sofware amp sims. What are your current favorites?

Mine are Line 6 Helix Native and Mercuriall ampbox.

I got really jaded by Neural DSP's Archetype plug ins because they sound great when you first buy them, then seem to become increasingly fizzy and artifact-ish as you grow to know them...... then they released the Plini-X.

It is truly wonderful (not to mention a free upgrade to Archetype Plini owners, which was really cool).

I used STL AmpHub for a year or so, I’ve had Helix Native for a long time (I got it with my Helix unit). I have STL ToneHub, I used to have the THU Slate Edition, I have a Plugin Alliance subscription which includes the BX amp sims. I’ve tried Mercuriall, Nembrini and a couple of the Neural ones.

Here are my thoughts:
AmpHub is cool but the tones seem to be a little lost in a mix.

Helix I am actually using this on a project where my FM9 just doesn’t seem to be getting the tones I want. Helix still doesn’t get to FAS modeling quality. I also use Native a lot for effects on other instruments in my DAW. There is something in how the amp breakup/distortion is modeled that I don’t like. Also it feels like Helix gets lost in a mix at times also.

Tonehub was my go to for a while, I liked the limited frequencies, I feel like the guitars sat where they should in a mix. The distortion is the same through out each pack regardless of the “amp” modeled or captured. Controls don’t behave like an amp and you can’t change cabs.

THU… moving on (same with Amplitube)

BX not impressive like I wanted them to be, especially the Herbert.

Neural I don’t get the hype. It worth the price of admission.

Mercurial & Nembrini I like most of what they offer and plugin wise I think they are in the conversation for the best options out there, especially when on sale.