Discussing 'sizzle'....

Loquenau

Power User
From here:

"You have to start thinking like a producer/engineer rather than a guitar player. If you start trying to dial out what you call "fizz" and "artifacts" you're going to end up with a tone that doesn't cut. It might sound good to you but it won't fit in the mix. That fizz and sizzle is what makes those classic rock tones work. Listen to some isolated tracks of VH and AC/DC and you'll hear a ton of high-end sizzle. In the mix, however, it's not noticeable. If you remove it then the guitar sounds dead."

(Even as a kid, long before I picked up a guitar, I heard the sizzle....) I agree with this - and yet I disagree. That is, the treble can be attentuated by mic placement without making it dead sounding. And most other sounds don't have it and they cut just fine. And the ear doesn't 'tire' of them, either.

I'm not a recording producer but I know enough to kind of know how it's done so heres my .02 worth.

fizz and sizzle is what makes those classic rock tones work. Listen to some isolated tracks of VH and AC/DC and you'll hear a ton of high-end sizzle.
I believe a lot of this depends on the style or how agressive sounding you want the the music to be. Early VH and AC/DC are two totally different typs of distortions. The amount of high end fizz on Eddies tone is over the top when compared to Angus and Malcolms tones. Using this as a blanket statement for every recording situation may not be totally correct and more generalized. There are a lot of Clasic rock tones that don't have a noticeable sizzle on the guitar track ie: Heart's Barracuda is one that comes to mind along with Bad Company's Rock steady and that's just two examples among thousands.