So After 3 Years It Comes to This...

Scott Peterson

Global Moderator
Vendor
...I am still learning and find new nuances and tones that are so fun and exciting to find with my Axe-FX.

It boils down to this, really. The Axe-FX is one hell of a fun little noise maker. Past all the 'it is too complicated' and other blather, I can pickup any of my guitars and be literally laughing out loud having fun playing every time I crank up the black box.

And that, frankly, says everything I ever needed to really say about the Axe-FX. It can make you laugh with joy every time you crank up and make your electric guitar make cool noise.

I've owned and leaned on some very cool gear to make fun noise and music during my life as a guitarist. But at some point with most gear, you feel the move to change it up just for the sake of inspiration or searching out new creative possibilities. The Axe-FX has created a reality for me where I just create my own new inspiration and creative possibilities by learning from others or just exploring new things with it.

I read a lot of good, bad and total on target/nonsense about what the Axe-FX is, can be, will be, etc. from all over the Net. But when I sit down, click the on button (and still to this day instinctively wait for it to 'warm up' (holdover from my tube amp days)) and start to play, I often just have to pick up my jaw, even today, in disbelief at the clarity of the top end and hear all the complexity and depth that I've always sought out in any gear I've owned to create the noises I like with an electric guitar.

Enjoying the journey.

Peace.

:)

Hear hear, it's responsible for a lot of tone delight and discoveries indeed. It may cost a lot nominally, but it's a bargain really.

Notwithstanding (what a word) the fact that at times it causes frustration too.