Gibson Les Paul Custom - Talk me into or out of buying

I mean, I couldn't care less what brand of guitar someone chooses to buy, but to not own an LP just because the headstock might break or crack or whatever is just ridiculous to me. Do they break sometimes?...Yes, but I've been playing them for 35 years and never had an issue. YMMV

Rock On !

I bought the Collings in my sig after shopping for an LP and failing, no regrets, love it.

B u t, I've considered an SE DGT, because way less money, but nobody has one to try.
For whatever it is worth, I have 3 Warmoth builds with Fralin pickups and when I ordered an SE DGT it sounded so bad to me, and to my wife from upstairs, that I literally packed it up for returning within 10 minutes. The build quality was good, the sound was terrible.
I think now I am seriously considering the 2024 S2 McCarty 594. I imagine it won't be discounted yet, but it looks like a great compromise in terms of price and quality.

I bought the Collings in my sig after shopping for an LP and failing, no regrets, love it.

B u t, I've considered an SE DGT, because way less money, but nobody has one to try.
Collings is just on whole another level and way over my budget. Your guitar is quite a looker!

Yeah, mine was literally 4x what I've paid for a guitar ever in my life -- used, and still was less than a lot of high end Gibsons. A lot less.
Just checked SW, a new "Gibson Custom 1959 Les Paul Standard Reissue Murphy Lab Brazilian Electric Guitar" is $20k! Greenie's the same.

I wasn't even talking about that shit.

For whatever it is worth, I have 3 Warmoth builds with Fralin pickups and when I ordered an SE DGT it sounded so bad to me, and to my wife from upstairs, that I literally packed it up for returning within 10 minutes. The build quality was good, the sound was terrible.
I think now I am seriously considering the 2024 S2 McCarty 594. I imagine it won't be discounted yet, but it looks like a great compromise in terms of price and quality.