First Hour with NEW AxeFX Ultra: Commentary

VirgilGuitar

Inspired
This is very hard for me to do, write some quick comments with the new "Box" I have sitting in front of me, so I will TRY to make this short.. I am writing this to all of the great CURRENT users, who REALLY helped with all of my questions about the unit - you guys are the greatest - thanks for your honesty, and great knowledge of this unit - I am not going to mention names, becuase there are too many to list and I would hate to miss someone (Sheesh Virgil, it AINT an Academy Award) This is also for the people who are waiting for more to wind up in stock as well as those who are thinking of getting this unit.

I need to first tell you of my experience as a guitarist, because I certainly do not consider myself as an expert by any means, but I will just be honest...
I started playing guitar when I was 13 and I was in my first band at 15 - I have owned more guitars, amps, effects pedals and other assorted gear than you can shake a stick at. One of my favorite amps I owned was an old JCM 800 that I used to run through a Carvin slant cab and that was the first amp I ever recorded with an old Tascam 4 track - that was 17 years ago - since that time, I have had a Fender Princeton Chorus and the last amp I bought was the Fender Cybertwin (Around 6 years ago) I had build 3 of my own talk boxes over the last 20 years and have owned so many pedals... even the floorboards, owned a Digitech Rp20, RP10, RP250 and I started recording with the PC over 10 years ago. About 5 years ago I bought a Vox ToneLab, with the 12AX7 tube in it and was pretty satisfied with it.

I teach guitar for a living - all my spare time is spent on working on original music these days - occasionally I perform out live, but my main gig is home recording. Over the last 10 years, I spent most of my money on guitars and never really dug into processors a whole bunch.