FAS Plugin…again….I know… m

stm113

Power User
Long time FAS gear user (over a decade now) and I still think that we need a plugin version of FAS amps. I know Cliff and team are vehemently opposed to the idea but in my opinion it’s the biggest hole in the product offerings. It’s so convenient when I am working with Helix Native or AmpHub to be able to try new amps for multiple guitar tracks in a mix without having to physically reamp, import the track etc.

First world problems I know.

Piracy has been one of the past reasons maybe even the major past reason. I’m no coder, but I know there have been solutions suggested such as having to have a unit connected as a dongle which I would be all in for.

Ultimately they are FAS and it’s up to them, regardless of the reason and that is 100% their right. As the consumer, it’s still within my rights to want it, and to ask for it, even if it’s for the millionth time. I know it’ll never happen, and to post about it will serve no productive purpose. I’m really just in my feels about it today, wishing it were an option.

It’s a very valid point nonetheless on ease of recording tracks and re-amping. I have a couple of Neural plugins that I’ll reach for on some tracks for no other reason than it being much quicker to adjust on the fly and get the tone right for the song rather than routing it back through my favourite Fractal presets.

My AxeFx routes through my audio interface's SPDIF ins and outs, so it's always ready to process. Recently I think Fractal responded to a wish to make the connection and disconnection easier. Doesn't alleviate the desire to fire up a zillion Fractal plugins at will, but it works well for me. Cheers.

Really hoping that the rest of the Axe FX 2 Blocks become available as plugins because the FAS rever is pretty solid. A delay is badly needed as the second.