MFC-101 and Axe-Edit Merge Rig : Parts Sources

Matman

Power User
Just a note that after working with a fellow forumite (hi AustinBuddy) on the issue of MFC-101 and Axe-Edit merge, I asked guitar-cable.com for a specific part number that would assuredly work for the merger that many of us use. I have found their build quality to be top-notch.

That part is now available at guitar-cable.com:
http://best-tronics.com/mm5/merchan...uct_Code=MIDI57C-XX&Attributes=Yes&Quantity=1

For a midi merger, I use a MIDI SOLUTIONS "MERGER", purchased from Ashby Solutions:
http://music.ashbysolutions.com/midisol.htm

This setup allows your rig the following capabilities
1. Allow Axe-Edit and the MFC-101 to communicate bi-directionally with your Axe-Fx
2. Phantom power the MFC-101
3. Easily pull the merger to swap in a normal 7-pin cable for gigging

Here's a re-post of my original diagram.
Midi-merge-box-2-1-.gif

Have fun,

Hi Matman,
Noob here. Just gettin' my arms around this Axe-FX and MFC-101. Sorry if this is a lame question. Is the rig in your illustration configured so that one can edit the Axe-FX parameters using the Axe Edit software AND also program the foot controller without the hassle of disconnecting/connecting to the computer?

Thanks,
BJD

This setup allows your rig the following capabilities
1. Allow Axe-Edit and the MFC-101 to communicate bi-directionally with your Axe-Fx
2. Phantom power the MFC-101
3. Easily pull the merger to swap in a normal 7-pin cable for gigging

Do I understand correctly: The only difference between using all 5 pin cables on a modified Midi Solutions midi-merger, and buying the above mentioned cable, would be that the power from the MFC wall-wart would go into the midi-cable power jack instead of the MFC. I'm a newb to MIDI, please let me know if I missed something.
Does this also mean when using the 5 pin cables, the soldering takes place on IN1, where if using the above mentioned cable, the soldering should be done to IN2?