OwnHammer Speaker Cabinets Public Beta (free stuff inside)

ok Kevin, got it. never really used Fat and Warm that much anyway to be honest :)

regarding your latest test file and maybe I have to listen a few more times, not sure if I actually prefer the first. the second seems to be a bit bigger, but also has something in the mids going on (and is a tad more fizzy ?) I'd probably try to dial down a little straight away. I have little to no experience with the MA200 and maybe that's exactly how it sounds, but somehow it sounds a bit more processed and less natural from the start. like I said, if that' how the mic sounds...so be it :)

To me the December clip sounds bigger and more balanced, clear and open, maybe a little less filtered/rolled off but not too bright. These characteristics are what I like to hear in an IR. :)

To me the December clip sounds bigger and more balanced, clear and open, maybe a little less filtered/rolled off but not too bright. These characteristics are what I like to hear in an IR. :)
they definitely sound bigger, which is great, but there's also something in the mids going on. maybe to balance out the added highs...?

To me the more recent clip is more even, open, deep, detailed, 3D and has less "gunk" on it, for lack of a better term. The less gunk while still providing plenty character (harmonic saturation), the clearer and more detailed everything else in the mix is as well, and is in my opinion the je ne sais quois of a good commercial recording and the challenge most face in getting there - the "garbage in, garbage out" & "you can't polish a turd" idioms in application. This was the new position 4, old position 6, (which are almost identical) so there is plenty of room on the way to 9 to go progressively thicker and more rounded to "listening with my head in a jar of mayonnaise" that some folks seem to want out of these things for whatever reason. :lol