Current State of Guitar Music

joe1871

Inspired
Hey All,

I have been wanting to ask this question for a while. I am a 64 year old guitarist. My hey day in guitar was in the 80-'s 90's, and then again in the 2000's with the emergence of Grunge or the "Seattle Sound" with Pearl Jam and Nirvana and STP. I have a very good library of songs I know from those eras. but frankly I am sick of them all. I was wanting to explore more current players, with popular music. All I can find - and I dont listen to music the way I used to - I rarely get in my car, and I am spending time with my family instead of listening, are the overly processed pop stuff that is frankly not doing it for me. There just isn't any guitar in those forms.

I know there is the heavy, detuned "Djent" styles of music, but it leaves me cold. there is no melody nor counterpoint in that style that I know of. I dont want that, I dont believe. I am open to being proven wrong.

So what are the current bands that people are listening to that are melody driven, more sophisticated, and interesting? My favorites in the past were Steely Dan, Weather Report, Return To Forever, Little Feat, Pink Floyd, Yes, and many others of that ilk. Of course I was also into Vai, Satriani, DiMeola, etc. Are there current bands/players that you might throw into the mix? I would love to hear some new music that is interesting, challenging, and fun to play.

Thanks in advance folks. I hope I don't hurt too many feelings, not my intent at all.

Joe