X-Files: "One Night in Akron" w/ Neil Zaza & the AX8

X-Mann

Experienced
Sup my gear modeling brothers? I know that you guys are already "in the know" about the AX8 & I'm still waiting for my X-mail to arrive.................but I wanted to share this little adventure with you guys......& I'll join in a lot more here once I own the precious too!

I went to Akron Ohio this weekend to watch Neil Zaza perform a concert w/ his brand new Fractal Audio AX8.

I'm a student, long time fan & fellow Kiesel Guitar (aka Carvin) lover & now professed Fractal fanatic (but I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested)!

Neil's newest CD titled "Peach" is a true master piece & a work of art. If you love great compositions, great tones & stellar/inspiring playing, then I say buy it ASAP.

Here's the stage set-up & Neil's back line too.

Mark Day helped Neil get the routing of his AX8 correct for what he wanted to do & I will only comment a little bit about it. Maybe Mark will chime in w/ more details down the road.

The AX8 outputs were split & sent out different signals from what Z told me. One output was dry w/ no FX or cab modeling & went to a Matrix power amp & Wizzard guitar cab. The other had full FX & cab modeling.

I sat front row center & the AX8 Friedman HBE guitar tone was to die for & then some. When Neil noodled around between songs, his delay setting was nothing short of perfect in my eyes!!!

Zaza's using a brand new Kiesel Aries guitar built directly by Master Builder Jeff Kiesel. I knew that Neil played w/ 11's & I didn't realize what a big deal that really was....until after the concert when he said "X, you gotta play this thing" &......well....I almost couldn't! It made me rethink the awesome evening I had just witnessed too.

The AX8 tone was everything that I hoped & wanted it to be & 10x more. It's a Pro level device that was crystal clear & 110% amp like.