World's simplest/reliable MFC for AxeFx other than FAS MFC

Discussion in 'Other MIDI Controllers' started by Billbill, Apr 21, 2017 at 7:40 AM.

  1. Billbill

    Billbill
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    33
    The title says it all. I need something that I can use with my new Axe 2 XL+ to simply switch presets and scenes, NOTHING ELSE!
    What's a good MFC to use just for switching presets and scenes. Nothing complicated just a preset and scene switcher. I don't have much funds or time available to spend hours programming more MIDI stuff haha. Anyone got anything?
     
  2. Ben Harvey

    Ben Harvey
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Literally anything that sends PC and CC messages which is pretty much every controller in existence.
    Having said that you get what you pay for. I paid for a Morningstar MC-6 and it's awesome.
     
    bobmichigan and scottburrow like this.
  3. mr_fender

    mr_fender
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,505
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    For the money, you'll be hard pressed to beat the Behringer FCB1010 for basic MIDI stuff, but it can be a pain to program. You can add an Uno or EurekaProm aftermarket ROM chip to make it easier to use though too. Controller is about $150 new and the ROM chips are about $35.
     
  4. pitta

    pitta
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Germany
    BJ Devices, with GM Arts custom firmware
     
  5. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    That isn't really accurate. You need to be able to send CC messages with specific data values for scenes... Many "simple" midi controllers only send off/on (0/127) CC messages.
     
  6. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Agreed!

    But, at least with the Uno chip, the LEDs can be a bit confusing when using scenes and presets. Hard to know what you have selected.

    The Morningstar and BJ Devices stuff already mentioned are fairly inexpensive and can do what is needed plus a lot more, if desired.
     
    Sergei Burenkov likes this.
  7. FTR-greg

    FTR-greg
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Texas
    I use Decibel Eleven Switch Dr. It is a bit of a pain to program too but it is small, very tough (all metal) and has other features that can be nice to have as well. One note though, if you are using an expression pedal you will want to plug it directly into AXE-FX rather than the Decibel Eleven expression port for full range of sweep. They go for about $250 new but you get a buffer and 4 loops as well.
     
  8. Toopy14

    Toopy14
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    900
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    VooDoo Lab GCPro.
     
  9. Brues

    Brues
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    I would second the Behringer FCB1010 with the Eureka 3.2 Prom. That is what I am using until I get an MFC-101. It does exactly what you said with the Eureka chip plus it has a few different options. I have seen them for around $100 brand new.
     
  10. cronerror

    cronerror
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    My heavily modified FCB1010 with Eurekaprom 3.2 covers a lot of ground for the ~$165 CDN I have sunk into it. If I had the decision to make over though, I would probably buy the BJ Devices TB-12. The optional GM Arts software for it looks to be really flexible.
     
    Sergei Burenkov likes this.
  11. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Just get an early version of the MFC, they are about $400 or less (depending on cosmetics). It cost the same or less than most other solutions, and it requires no real programming, works great out of the box, with all the more scenes, presents etc you could want, and better yet, it reflects the current state of each switch and has a nice big LCD screen too.

    Other units aren't really much cheaper, require more programming, and don't have the 2 way communication.

    MFC does the best job at being an MFC
     
    Lkdog likes this.
  12. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Does that really qualify as "simply switch scenes"?

    I know it can be done, but IMO it is not a simple setup.

    Otherwise, it is a solid unit.
     
    Billbill likes this.
  13. Desmo808

    Desmo808
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    310
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I'm using an FCB1010 (stock FW) to switch presets and scenes, nothing else. The two expression pedals are a nice bonus. I also converted to phantom power, so no extra power cable to fuss with. You can set individual preset numbers to send MIDI commands to multiple devices simultaneously. The limitation is that in stock form, you can only program up to 100 preset numbers (10 banks x 10 presets). I am ignorant of the capabilities of the aftermarket FWs because I'm running stock.

    I don't use the aftermarket GUI for programming (I think that requires aftermarket FW). If you just follow the manual (and/or keep a printout of the relevant pages nearby), it's easy. When you get the hang of it, programming on the fly is pretty fast. It does help if you're OCD, though (which I am, with a touch of ADD, how's that for a combination).
     
  14. Billbill

    Billbill
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    33
    Does that MC6 jive well with the AxeFx? Is it a pretty solid option for switching presets and scenes?
     
    dukemcrae likes this.
  15. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Are you planning to use it for live performance? I don't have one, but by all accounts it is very capable... However, it is small, so the switches are closer together. I think they also offer a "custom" option in a larger enclosure.
     
    dukemcrae likes this.
  16. Lkdog

    Lkdog
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    183
    Honestly, this makes a lot of sense.
    I have had the FCB1010 with EurekaProm which was good, but the MFC is just easy.
     
  17. Billbill

    Billbill
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    33
    Small is what I need in an MFC. So does that MC6 have the capabilities to be able to switch presets, scenes, and jump to a different preset bank if needed.???!
     
    dukemcrae likes this.
  18. searching

    searching
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    The Midi Moose by Tech 21 is THE simplest midi controller I know of, and it's cheap. All it does is change presets and there is zero programming. I highly recommend it! Did I mention it's built like a tank?

    Other than that, the FCB1010 is pretty good but the programming is horrible. I mean god awful horrible. Out of the box it is good at just changing presets, though. I have a Eurekaprom chip in it now and that helped. Now it's pretty flexible, but still takes some programming.
     
  19. Jimmytwotimes

    Jimmytwotimes
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Probably a little more than you're looking for - but I have heard a lot of good things about the Roland FC-300 - and you get 2 expression pedals !
     
  20. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    As far as I am aware, yes... But as mentioned, I don't have one.

    Probably @MorningstarFX can tell you :)
     

Share This Page