Wired in ear monitoring, anyone?

selim cobanoglu

Hi everone,

I am a singer guitarist and struggling to get a good monitoring on the small club we play every week.
Wireless systems are a bit pricey, and since I am a guitar player, I am already wired in some sort of way.
So there's no point to go wireless for monitoring purposes.

What's the best wired in ear monitoring solution for a guitar player. Do you guys use this method?
Thanks in advance. :)
(By the way I use my AX8 on stage both direct to PA and fx return of an amp)

I used to do something similar - I used a Behringer P1 ($50) and sleeved a 3.5mm (standard mini jack) headphone extension cable with my guitar cable - using expandable mesh sleeving ($10). The Behringer sat on floor by my guitar inlet to pedalboard, and had XLR input from mixer for my monitor. P1 can be powered from pedalboard or any pedal adapter. No batteries, simple, cheap - worked for me :)

It depends.. the Rolls PM351 is pretty popular for wired.. assuming you can get all the feeds you need to it.
Whatever solution you choose, MAKE SURE that you have brick-wall limiting capability in-line.
With wireless systems, those come with the receiver units.. but not with wired systems.
You may need to factor in the purchase of one, to put between the mixer and your monitor system.
Will prevent ear damage from things like dropped mics :)

The little behringer $50 headphone amp thingy works a treat. Used it with an acoustic band I played with. Screws on a mic stand or has a belt clip. XLR ins. If you don't have the volume up loud too loud, loud spikes cant hurt, so I wouldn't sweat the limiter. it's good insurance, but just don't have the volume up where it can hurt you.