Who is using the AX8 with a 2nd midi foot controller.

Roadrunner

Power User
I'm trying to find the best way to add few more switches, I thought maybe to use a tiny (4 switch) midi foot switch to be connected to the AX8 via midi and control maybe scenes or FX blocks etc.
Anyone tried that?
Thanks.

I have been thinking about doing this. I have a Voodoo Labs Ground Control Pro left over from my previous rig. I have only had my AX8 for 3 days and I am still learning at a breakneck pace. I don't know if using a controller by itself would be better than using one in tandem with the controls on the AX8. As I get more experience with the AX8, I'll definitely look into this functionality.

Yep, happy MorningStar MC6 user here.
It's a very powerful, yet small device, to give me access to pretty much anything on the AX8.
It spends 90% of it's time on bank1, which gives me access to my 6 most used presets.

I've played with using my MFC and the AX8, but programming was a little tedious when I only wanted a couple of additional switches. So while it worked, it was overkill. I only wanted a few switches to use for volume leveling. I ended up just buying a Boss dual FS and using the pedal inputs.

RR

I built an arduino controller that syncs with the AX8 using sysex over usb, it shows the bank, preset and scene number on the screen and even the tuner, i even wrote a web app to edit what each button does

Attachments

• IMG_3974.JPG
    IMG_3974.JPG
    123.7 KB · Views: 66
My plan is to add 4 more buttons in front of the AX8 so the first row will be presets + bank up / down, 2nd row (sw1-4) will be scenes 1 – 4 and 3rd row (sw 5 – 8) will be used for FX on/off.
I thought to add the Midi Moose which has 5 buttons so I will use the 5th for preset 5, 10, 15 etc. and leave it empty = kill switch.
So, I would like to have the Midi Moose for preset / bank select, and the Axe will do all scenes and FX on / off.
Do you think the Midi Moose will do its part?