who here loves their jobs?

sundance_kiddsg

Experienced
the responses to fabio's thread on being self-employed got me thinking.
i am always envious of friends or people i know who are making a living out of doing things they love or have genuine interest in.
personally i don't particularly fancy my job. the only thing that drags me out of bed is knowing that i am getting paid pretty okay for what they think i am proficient at (big difference from what i am actually :mrgreen).
anyone here making a decent living from something that they look forward to each day?
do share.

I surely do :)
I'm a software engineer, and work at home, so beside loving my job it also allows me to be in contact with my AxeFX and guitars all day long :)
Of course it's sometimes very stressful, and annoying when users have silly requests ^^
But i often find myself waiting for Monday morning just to try something i've thought about, call me nerd ;)

My job does not pay me a lot, but it lets me a lot of time for my daughter and wife, my hobbies etc... I guess you have to put the cursor between those different things in life, can't have lot of money AND time, apart when beeing a genius like Cliff ;)

LIke my job too: Business Consultant in R&D and Engineering for large companies. Spend a part of my time working in back office at home, and travel continuously in parallel (FR, EUr, US).
SO when I'm at home: take time with family and enjoy my AF2 and its environment !
And that's an important part in my life for a good balance.

I strongly believe that if someone is not happy with what he is doing, he should change that.
Change attitude towards the job, or change jobs.

You only live once (unless you believe in reincarnation), and life's too short to spend years and years doing something you don't like.

Last edited:
I am employed by CenturyLink as a Central Office Switchman. I do enjoy my work, and I am paid well for the services I provide.