Which SS poweramp to drive a Marshall 1960A?

Brick_top

Power User
Hi there...

Any advice? I would like to have headrrom..

I've been looking at the Art Sla-2, Qsc GX-5 and GX-3

Wondering if these are underpowered for a 4x12

Thanks a lot

I have no experience with the other amps you listed, but the Art Sla-2 is more than adequate enough for a single 4x12.

Brick_top said:
Will it give me aproximately the power of a 100watt tube amp?

My experience so far is that you want some serious headroom with a SS amp if you are looking for 100 watt tube head kind of volume. My 4x12's are 16 ohm, so I have been using SWR Power 750's that are rated for 450 at eight ohms, probably around 250-300 at 16 ohms, and that gets me in similar territory volume wise.

I have a Tech 21 PE-400 that should be showing up today - it is rated at 200 into 8, 150 into 16, so we'll see how that fairs.

With SS, I would look for something that can put roughly double your cabs power handling capacity at rated impedance to have adequate headroom if you are looking for serious volume. Any more than that, and you really have to be careful to not fry your speakers (their rating is for thermal, and does not account for max excursion, which is why you can make them fart out with much less than their rated power if you EQ in excessive lows).

JR

I'm driving two 4x12 cabs with my GX5, one is a 1960 cab... And if I crank the volume half way, it rattles the entire neighborhood!!!!!

Brick_top said:

The general rule of thumb is with SS power you need 5 times the power rating to achive the (head room) of a 100 watt tube head. So going by that rule you would want to use 500 wats of power. The SLA-2 Bridged would give you this. The GX series amps are not bridgable so the GX5 would be the better choise with the QSC

Sixstring said:
Brick_top said: