What type of monitors are people using for the axe in a home practice situation

Terref69

I'm wondering what everybody is using for monitors. are you using stage monitors that are powered for just stay home use and if you were going to play Live what type of monitors would you bring for yourself instead of using the PA system I am very new to this and curious what everyone is using
I have a double stack Marshall 2000 head but I want to use strictly the axe 3 any ideas.. fractal says to plug it into my input effects Loop and turn off my Poweramp module

I use an Atomic CLR (the current model).

Using your Marshall as a power amp and your Marshall cab would certainly work, but there are a few drawbacks:

1. If you plan to gig with the Fractal then you prob don't want to drag the Marshall to the gig, so you are going to want some sort of powered FRFR anyway.

2. You can't try different cab models - all you get is what you physically have (the Marshall), which might be great for a lot of stuff, but no cab is perfect for everything.

3. You are still burning tubes every time you use the Marshall. My stuff tends to stay on all day - even though I'm not playing it non stop (I'm in and out a lot and the studio is my day job). When I ran tube amps this caused me to burn though tubes more often than I wanted. Not a problem with the Fractal stuff.

Be it something like the CLR, a powered stage monitor, or just the speakers on your DAW, you are probably going to want a FRFR to get the most out of your new toy.

[Edit - and I just use one, I don't worry about stereo in my practice setup, or live most of the time either]

Cheers!

I have 2 for stereo.

They're not cheap. What's your budget? And it helps to say what type of music you play. The harder folks tend to have different preferences. CLR are pretty neutral so you can cover a pile of different genre's.

R