What is up with Fractal, and supply? New Customer

First post, have some questions... but not really about the Axe FX unit. I can conclude the unit is great, that's simple and documented by all the vids and stuff.

I've known about the Axe FXs for several year... but only in the last 3-4 years I have looked at purchasing seriously, but each time I've been on the website they were always on a back order status, and potentially that was just my timing, so I passed on ordering. So now I finally said "what the heck" I can wait and I'm old enough now to be pretty patient so it not all that important, so I got on the waiting list... and that led me to want to ask some questions.

As a business owner myself (Lithium Motorsport Batteries) and having our manufacturing offshore as well, I fully understand the difficulties of engineering and manufacturing products and the supply chain aspects. This is all we do also, but what gets my feet a little cold as I look at my Axe purchase is I cannot wrap my head around how Fractal is operating being it seems they are alway back ordered. So I had some basic questions. I don't expect the average forum person to weigh in unless they have some inside knowledge. But I'm just wanting to understand better since its a little odd the way this works after so many years I've been watching this product.

Here's my questions....