What are your go to 4x12 IRs?

Eman7422

Inspired
Tone desired, speaker type = IR chosen

lets us know the type of tone you are going for, the speaker you want and the IR (or IR‘s) you like

I’m new to FM3. I’m a hard rock and metal guy...what are the go-to 4x12’s that come stock? Is it best to blend a 57 version with a 160 or something else?

Factory cabs F2, 0512 thru 0515 cover my needs from clean to mean to crush but I'm going to check out @York Audio new release @Blix mentioned. I have his vox ir's and they're amazing.

All subjective but I have found that paired up the Legacy 149 Trad V60 Full OH and Legacy 37 Basketweave G12M25 RW work best for all my presets. To my ears they sound really good in band mix and FOH. I have used a few 3rd party IRs but continue to go back to the FAS stock cabs.

This is an excellent V30 pack and it's free. I use the 57_1_inch_cap_pres_3 for just about everything with cuts at 83 and 8300. Sounds great.

https://wilkinsonaudio.com/products/gods-cab

Dude, not bad! I downloaded it expecting "meh" but this reminds me more of what I'd hear coming through the monitor + PA when my V30 cabs were miked. On a good night and in a good way.

I've currently got your favorite IR with your cuts panned hard left with 57_1_inch_cap_pres_4 (brighter) panned hard right. Gonna play with this some today.

To answer the OP, there are A LOT of 4x12 IRs included with the FM3 and many of them are good. I have no doubt that god-like combinations could be found, but it would take some time. Here are some of my tried-and-true combinations for all tones short of modern metal (which I don't play):

Paid:
York Audio M25 Mix 01 + York Audio Blackjack Mix 01. BOOM.

Nearly Free:
York Audio Mesa 2x12 ($1). I know you said 4x12 but this is really excellent for tight yet huge tones. I actually prefer it to the OS 4x12 pack I bought.

Free:
Leon Todd's TV Mix 2
Legacy cab #103