1. Recent events require us to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Whammy bar flutter

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by keithguitarfan, Jun 12, 2018 at 8:04 AM.

  1. keithguitarfan

    keithguitarfan
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Destin, Florida
    Does anyone have an idea on how to recreate a whammy bar flutter effect using effects
     
  2. simeon

    simeon
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,670
    Likes Received:
    7,799
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    if it was me, i'd use a momentary footswitch tied to the bypass of a pitch block with one voice attached to a fast lfo.
     
    bradlake likes this.
  3. Tahoebrian5

    Tahoebrian5
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Usually the overall pitch goes up then quickly returns to original while the fluttering oscillates above and below that pitch. And the amplitude would need to decay also. Sounds like a fun challenge.
     
  4. simeon

    simeon
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,670
    Likes Received:
    7,799
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Yeah, I seem to remember this coming up before and we weren’t very successful.
     
  5. Tahoebrian5

    Tahoebrian5
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    It would be helpful if you could trigger an asdr with a button. Not possible right?
     
  6. h.c.e.

    h.c.e.
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    523
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Not triggered w/ a button, no, but the ADSR controllers can be set to trigger/retrigger every time the signal level exceeds the input threshold...
     
  7. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,945
    Likes Received:
    1,520
    JJunkie likes this.
  8. JJunkie

    JJunkie
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    483
  9. Paperjace

    Paperjace
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    349
    You can do this in Axe Edit, also.
     
  10. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    As far as I know you can only assign modifiers via Axe Edit to controls that "expose" a modifier option from the front panel as well.

    FracPad doesn't "play by the rules" so to speak... ;)
     
  11. NeoSound

    NeoSound
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    1,920
    Location:
    Kentucky
    The flutter accelerates and diminishes at the same time, kind of like a ball bouncing faster but lower on each bounce.
     

Share This Page