W/D/W Setup but Output 2 Hums

deakle

Experienced
I am using my Axe-Fx II in a w/d/w set up. I am using a Carvin DCM1540L power amp to power my stereo setup through 2 Carvin 2x12 Cabinets with Celestion Vintage 30's. Then I am using Output 2 to drive my Carvin V3M amp also with a single Carvin 2x12 Cabinet with Celestion Vintage 30's. The only issue that I have is that I have hum through my Carvin V3M. I have tried running Output 2 both to the input of my V3M and into the return of the effects loop and I get hum both ways. Any ideas on how to eliminate the hum? I apologize if this is a dumb question but I am new to the Fractal Audio world.

I am using my Axe-Fx II in a w/d/w set up. I am using a Carvin DCM1540L power amp to power my stereo setup through 2 Carvin 2x12 Cabinets with Celestion Vintage 30's. Then I am using Output 2 to drive my Carvin V3M amp also with a single Carvin 2x12 Cabinet with Celestion Vintage 30's. The only issue that I have is that I have hum through my Carvin V3M. I have tried running Output 2 both to the input of my V3M and into the return of the effects loop and I get hum both ways. Any ideas on how to eliminate the hum? I apologize if this is a dumb question but I am new to the Fractal Audio world.

Great thread deakle :encouragement:

I'm new too and I want to spec out my rig the right way the first time - after all - its a lot of wasted $$$ to go the trial and error route that we all read about so often. :cry

I have no experience with w/d/w at all but I would love to learn about the details and the pros and cons of going with a w/d/w setup :geek before :eagerness: selecting an $$$ stereo power/speaker solution (my understanding is that one would use 3-channel amplification for a w/d/w setup - but I have no idea what I am talking about). :stupid:

And I am always interested in learning how to deal with silencing hum. :encouragement: