Using the Axe with In Ear Monitors?

Paulg2uk

Power User
Hi guys,

I'm just after some help with my axe. I usually use it with my studio monitors at home or via the 4CM with my amp when I gig. My band has a wedding gig in the next few months and the venue wants us to plug directly into their state of the art PA with in ear monitoring.

I have some patches setup already on the axe so I can use them with my studio monitors. As well as my normal presets I use with my amp. I just wondered if there was a particular way I should setup or connect the axe up when at the venue? Should I hook it up in stereo or mono? What do you guys do? Any tips or suggestions you've learnt on the way?

I've never used any in ear monitoring before so this is all new to me.

Many thanks

Paul

I have been playing with IEM for some years now , really absolutely amazing !
Whole band nicely stereo sounding so go for stereo guitars of course....unless your FX are mono programmed ?
I don't need to do anything else presetwise...whatever sounds great here on my KRK 6 monitors , translate very well over every FOH and IEM.
Make sure your guitar sound is well balanced ! So no heavy low ends messing up with the Bassguitars and no Screaming high ....:eek:

You can already see how your IEM sounds by just plugging it into the headphone directly on the Axe....Have fun !
It has been a blast for me to get down the stage after the gig , take away the IEM and NO bleeding eardrums :D:D:D:D:D

Oh,m if you have wireless IEM , even better ....

Biggest advantage of IEM : stage volume and Stage sound is everywhere the same...so jump around....

I have gone direct and been on IEM exclusively for about 2 yrs now, but it can be VERY different from what you are used to playing live for the first time user. And no, I have never set up different presets for IEM's vs other monitoring formats. Same outputs (OUT1 - stereo) as I have always used.