Using Multiband Compressor to bring out lower notes

slothy one

Inspired
Hey everyone,

I'm trying to use the multiband compressor to bring out the lower note of my 8 string guitar. When I play an open note power chord (tuning low EBEADGBE), the low B drowns out the low E - basically because the low B has more tone and cuts through the bassier E string. I'd like to isolate the low E and try and bring that out. I'm a novice with the MBC, so I haven't been able to accomplish this yet. But based on my understanding of the MBC, I believe this is possible.

If anyone has dealt with this and can offer me some insight, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks guys.

Have you tried an eq first? I'm not at home at the moment, so I can't try it and I have never used the MBC block.
But in theory, it's all the same.
A multiband compressor is great for evening out frequencies. But you have to know which range of frequncies you want the compressor to take care of. Either by ear or find out what the exact frequency range is from the low E to the B or Ab is. (I believe that the low Ab is around 233 hertz since the A on a normal 6 string guitar is 440 hertz. Look at a piano frequency chart.
Usually most multiband compressors are divided into 3 or 4 bands (or more)
The MBC block has 3 bands I believe.
So have a nicely compressed setting for the frequencies between the low E and Ab and a slow attack to allow the frequencies to ring out.
Then from B and upward, have a normal setting and tweak the compression so that each string sounds even in volume.
I will have a go at it when I get home :)

Read the wiki in the mean time http://wiki.fractalaudio.com/axefx2/index.php?title=Multiband_compressor_(block)

In use the multi band comp to bring out the bass and keep it even. I shot off the other frequency. You have to find the frequency that you need to to compress.
You might need a hi pass filter because the multicomp compress from the set point to bellow the set point.