using Eleven Rack and Axe Fx together

hoss

Inspired
Hi,

I am pretty new to the world of Axe-FX but have used hardware (and software) modellers and computer audio interfaces for about 8 years. My other background are classic tube amps, though.
My main interface now is the Digidesign Eleven Rack which I got in November 2009. It's price is very competitive considering it's coming with Pro Tools 8 LE and many routing features.
Eleven Rack also offers very good sounding guitar modeling (the True-Z input is amazing) but lacks features and flexibility in the effects chain (no stereo effects except reverb, no custom IRs, no rigs for Bass guitar,...)
I was looking at the Axe FX for some time but was held back by it's limits (no audio computer interface and no headphone jack). The raves about Axe FX and the great sounding audio files finally made me buy one two weeks ago.
I don't need to tell you how good it sounds, I just want to talk about setting it up with the Digidesign interface for recording and re-amping on a Digital Audio Workstation (a Mac or PC with DAW software like Pro Tools, Cubase, Logic,...).

Here is a mini how-to for a great setup using Eleven Rack (as the Interface) and Axe FX (as the modeling unit):

Plug your guitar into Eleven Rack and make sure the digital clock on Eleven Rack is set to the standard 48kHz (Axe FX only works at 48kHz).
On Eleven Rack I have a "neutral" rig that has every effect and amp bypassed but you can also hit the tuner button for the same effect. You can even leave the 11R tuner active all the time to check on your guitar while playing. All the modeling is done in the Axe FX alone.

This is a also a great way to compare the two racks. Select a rig on your Eleven Rack and press the BYPASS button on the Axe FX to listen to the sound from the Eleven Rack rig, select the TUNER mode on Eleven Rack and press BYPASS again on the Axe FX to listen to the sound from the Fractal unit.

Sounds cool?

Setting things up: