1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

using both Output 1s?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by jasonmauer, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. jasonmauer

    jasonmauer
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    66
    Hi everyone, new AxeFX II owner here (and loving it) with a question about output. I've been running 1/4" to my power amp from Output 1. During rehearsal I also plug into the XLRs to connect to the mixer for recording. When I do so, I lose the signal to the 1/4" jacks. Is this by design or do I have something configured wrong? Any setting to enable both the 1/4" and XLR jacks for Output 1?

    Related question -- if I can't use the 1/4" jacks for Output 1 at the same time as the XLRs, is there a global setting for copying Output 1 to Output 2? I found a copy setting in the I/O menu, but that appears to be a per-patch setting.
     
  2. s0c9

    s0c9
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5,939
    Likes Received:
    1,520
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    Yes, 1/4 get cut off as I believe both outs are in parallel.

    And no, the COPY OUT1->OUT2 in the I/O menu is global, not per preset. Set that ON and you will have OUT1 copied to OUT2 and can use both sets of outputs.
     
  3. javajunkie

    javajunkie
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12,342
    Likes Received:
    3,402
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    I haven't tried this, but it must be new to the II, you could do it with the original axe-fxs and they were wired in parallel.
     
  4. jasonmauer

    jasonmauer
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    66
    Cool, thanks for the help!

    -j
     
  5. javajunkie

    javajunkie
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12,342
    Likes Received:
    3,402
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Actually now that I think about it. I use both 1/4 and XLR outs all the time. No sp[ecial setup both just work. I have 1/4 to poweramp/cab, xlrs to FOH. I'm playing them both at the same time right now.
     
  6. Peter Hundley

    Peter Hundley
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    156
    I would think that both should work at the same time????? Both outs work at the same time on the Ultra. I guess I haven't hooked it up that way yet with the II, but I would expect to be able to use the 1/4" and XLR outs at the same time.
     
  7. javajunkie

    javajunkie
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12,342
    Likes Received:
    3,402
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    they do on mine.
     
  8. #8 ZenRigs Man, Oct 12, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011
    ZenRigs Man

    ZenRigs Man
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    1,831
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    This actually caught me out at a gig a couple of weeks ago!

    I play in a charity band (raising money for cancer research) and we've been lucky to have a pro sound guy donate his services to us, with full pa etc for our gigs. With him, I've been running both output 1s - Xlr to his console and 1/4" jack to my atomic, with no problems.

    The last gig a couple of weeks back, he couldn't make it and we ended up using a cheaper (but still not bad) PA that our singer has bought. I had the same problem as the OP - no output (actually, very little output) to the atomic via the 1/4" jack. Setup was exactly the same as I've been using with our 'pro' sound man. Didnt have time to figure out why, so just ended up using both outputs.

    Very odd!
     
  9. mejoshee

    mejoshee
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    is this an issue of phantom power to the xlr jacks?
     
  10. jasonmauer

    jasonmauer
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    66
    There was not phantom power supplied on the XLRs.
     
  11. xrist04

    xrist04
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,015
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC, United States
  12. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    is it a "box" style pa head, with only a volume knob and no gain knob per channel?
     
  13. mejoshee

    mejoshee
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  14. cobbler

    cobbler
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    4,645
    Location:
    The desert
    I use the XLR's connected to a Fireface UFX with outs to Adam7's along with the 1/4's to Atomic Wedges all the time. Did so with the Ultra as well.
     
  15. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    Both outputs should work simultaneously. They are actually buffered so even if you shorted one it shouldn't affect the other.
     
  16. ZenRigs Man

    ZenRigs Man
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,025
    Likes Received:
    1,831
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    I think so mate - will need to check with the singer at next rehearsal.
     

Share This Page