Understanding amps and IR's?

So I'm still getting into learning about how IR's work even though I clearly hear a difference when changing it with whatever amp I use. An Impulse response captures the sound of the speaker in relation to the mic and environment it is captured in.

But does the amp model affect the end result of the IR? I often see IR's named like 1x12 65 Deluxe Reverb. If it was a different year amp (1968 for example) running through the exact same speaker,cab,mic etc, would that effect the end capture of the 1x12? Sorry if its a stupid question, I'm genuinely curious how the specific amp chassis affects the speaker capture.

The name is giving you an indication of the cabinet / speaker the IR was captured from.

The amp is not involved in the IR capture.

Typically, IRs are captured in such a way that the driving amplifier is taken out of the equation as much as possible. Usually either a separate clean, flat response amplifier is used to drive the cab, or a direct line level tap from the amp output is used to calculate and remove any coloration the amp itself adds. The goal is usually to capture just the response of the cab and speaker, plus any mic coloration and room reflections present.

It's entirely possible a different combo amp would give you a different sound though, even with the exact same speaker. Any differences is cab size, shape, construction, materials, weight, etc. could affect the resonance and response of the cab and speaker package. So, yes it's possible the IR of a 65 Deluxe Reverb 1x12 could sound different than a 68, but not so much because of the amp but rather the construction differences in the cabinets that happened over the years and after CBS started cutting corners.

Last edited:
To get the IR a sinus sweep signal is sent to the Cab and as said, with neutral amp that doesn't color the signal.
And also as already said, every Cab (IR or Physiyal CAB) will sound different, even with same speaker.