1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Understanding All the Different Gain Controls

Discussion in 'Tech Notes' started by FractalAudio, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. jshirkey

    jshirkey
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    62
    In a word, no. I couldn't care less about the factory presets--aside from the fact that they are unusable for me in a lot of cases. If I want to try them out (for whatever reason...mostly to sample the amps that are modeled), then I need to turn something down so that they don't clip. That something would be the Level knob in the amp block.
     
  2. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17,857
    Likes Received:
    8,005
    Yes. I was answering your question on how to make up the lost volume.
     
  3. Dendrite

    Dendrite
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    NE FL, just up from the horses
    Good thread, and perfect timing for me. I've been noticing I'm getting pretty significant variations in my levels going to the board, and I think it's all related to my presets not being well finished (what noob programmed those patches?? Oh wait- me...). So I've been fixing them.
    To keep the tones similar, I've ended up using the Ax8Edit output mixer that's present on all presets. With this, I have the VU meter open on the Ax8 and aim for the zero line by adjusting the output main level fader up or down, usually +/- up to 3 dB. Once it's reasonably zeroed on VU, the level sent to the board should be more consistent and my tone hasn't been altered by messing with amp volumes, drive levels, etc in the patch. And I don't have to do wholesale level changes with the black knob on front of Ax8.
    It seems to be working... Is this reasonable or am I unknowingly screwing myself?
     
  4. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17,857
    Likes Received:
    8,005
    That's reasonable. But if you do it that way, you'll have to do it for every scene in a preset. Changing the Amp block level changes it for all scenes that use that Amp block. And it doesn't change your tone.
     
    chris likes this.
  5. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    21,589
    Likes Received:
    13,634
    This.

    That's exactly why on the VU meter screen you can adjust the Amp Level parameter using the A knob :)
     
    volothamp likes this.
  6. Dendrite

    Dendrite
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    NE FL, just up from the horses
    Ahh. And now it all comes together! Thanks!
     
  7. Billbill

    Billbill
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    301
    Sorry but yes, another nOOb question here.
    I'm loving my new AxeFx2XL+ but i haven't really been able to get rid of this weird background fizziness that is in my distorted tone. I created said patches for 8 string metal guitar and I don't really use THAT much OD! I'm trying to learn how to blend two amps and two Cabs for a more unique, tailored sound without the use of any drive blocks. I just cant clean this digital fizz out! Every time I try to lower say, the OD I end up not having enough punch! Then I'll try to lower another drive input or adjust the GEQ which gets rid of the fizz but something else that i need is missing be it that punch, treble ect. If I want the treble back I turn up treble or mess with the dynamics and boom, there's the fizziness again!!! Ugh what am I doing wrong!?!?!
     
  8. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17,857
    Likes Received:
    8,005
    1) That "digital" fizziness is present int real tube amps, too. Crank a plexi and you'll see what I mean.

    2) Try a different cab.
     
  9. Billbill

    Billbill
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    301
    Well yeah I guess it is present in tube amps too I only said digital because obviously it's a digital unit...a unit that sounds better than tube amps but that's a highly subjective argument.
     
  10. Noriuky73

    Noriuky73
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    920
    Location:
    Italy
    Probably in a home studio recording environment you will get better tones from AxFx2 than a miked amp ...
    You will have more options and control without having to spend tons of money on hardware and mics plus greatly sounding room treatments . This is it
    And I must say compare this fizziness in a mix and not alone , sometimes it is necessary to jump out in a dense mix .
    Anyway is already a wise move to hicut the cab to get rid of unwanted brilliance when is already listened in mix .
    Very difficult to judge alone .
    Sometimes bug cuts from 5 to 8 khz make all the difference .
    Good luck
     
  11. #111 Sig, Apr 10, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2018
    Sig

    Sig
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just got a axe fxll. I just came to this forum to learn how to use it. And I am learning a lot. Fast. I am also starting to understand how my Egnater works. I didn’t know I was going to get more information on how a tube amp works in a way that makes sense than any other source as of yet. Thanks.
     
    brokenvail likes this.
  12. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17,857
    Likes Received:
    8,005
    Welcome to the funhouse, @Sig !

    If you dig through the forum, you'll learn more about how real tube amps work than most tube amp owners know. :)
     
  13. All Sanity Lost Freddy

    All Sanity Lost Freddy
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    I'm trying to grasp an understanding of the power amp section of the axe fx. During practice, I went to the power amp tab on the axe edit and changed MV location from Pre-Pi to Post and I heard a dramatic increase of volume. Although I liked it, I felt that the tone sounded colored after a while. With everything you mention in the basic set up in the amp Controls, could you help explain the power amo controls including the use of the of the MV location with MV Cap control.
     
  14. Livstone

    Livstone
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    52
    Following
     

Share This Page