UAD question

slinky005

Power User
Been pondering UAD since hearing of how good they are (mostly in this forum).
I have no experience at all with the system.
I currently have a fairly high end audio interface (Hammerfall Multiface II).
If I were to purchase one of the Apollo units, would that essentially make my Hammerfall redundant?
Between all the hardware options, what essentially are you paying for as you go up in price?

Can’t answer about the compatibility of your other interface, but depending on your OS (using mixed multiple interfaces is much easier on Mac). The difference between Apollo’s is basically the number of built-in mic preamps, and the amount of DSP provided, which you always want to go for the max available cuz the UAD plugins can be very DSP-thirsty. Also, plan to spend lots more money on those plugins , they are for the most part amazing, addicting and expensive, and the Apollo’s come with just a few preinstalled...look for a package deal where you get an initial discount on plugins when you purchase the hardware....

So a satellite will take the DSP load for the plugins while my interface does everything else?
Not sure how Cubase on a PC could accommodate two interfaces or if it's even possible.
Yes. I have heard about multiple interfaces in PC using ASIO-for-all...but seems to not be the best alternative, but a Satellite will do exactly what you just said.

FYI, I just downloaded the demo of the brand new Lexicon 480 plugin, and it is fookin amazing.....I know the verbs and delays in our FAS gear are world-class...but this thing has some wonderful sounding presets, and one of the attractions of UAD stuff is the dead-on
skeuomorphic representation and user interface, which is one of the only things Fractal has never attempted...but dunno if I will shell $350 for it.

I’ve been using UAD for a long time. Their interfaces are awesome because you can use their Unision technology with their mic pres. it is done really really.