Tweaking Tip/Idea - Mesa Mark Series Amps & Running 2 EL34'S In The Outer Sockets

shredi knight

Power User
I've always heard how with Mesa Boogie amps with Simul-Class, that they are able to run using both 6L6 & EL34 power tubes at the same time and many users prefer them this way (John Petrucci has been known to have his Mark series heads loaded with two 6L6's in the inner sockets, and two EL34 'S in the outer sockets). Since with 10.00, we now have the ability to choose the power tube type in the amp block, Tetrode (6L6, KT66, etc.) or Pentode (EL34, 6BQ5, etc.), I had the idea of maybe being able to simulate this by running two of the USA Lead amp sims in the same patch, but with one of them set to Pentode (EL34) instead of Tetrode (6L6).

I just started playing around with this this morning, but I am liking the results. Definitely worth trying for adding a little different flavor to the usual Mark series 6L6 type tone. You can use any combination of the USA Lead sims, but you are likely to get nasty phase cancellation (I do at least) unless you have them panned hard left & right. You can blend two of the exact same amp sims together without any phase issues though, unless maybe the settings greatly differ between the two (so far I have only experimented with using 2 of the same amp sim with the same settings, so I'm not sure about that).

Anyway, just an idea I had that I thought I'd share. Obviously you can so this with any of the Axe's amp sims, but I am using the Mesa Mark amp sims as an example since using different power tube types can be done with their real world counter parts.