Tuning and Recording + interface

I'm kinda embarrassed to even post this ....I'm not a newbie player, an average player but not new ... but I am new to recording. I record guitar mainly with my AxeFxIII.

This question may sound odd ...When I record, the guitars always sound outta tune slightly. Intonation is pretty good on my guitars so is there a trick to how you guys tune up? I searched the internet but never can find a good answer ... Just looking for some advice to get the best sounding recordings I can. My guitar always tend to be sharp. You think something this simple would be something I should know/understand ... I'm a bit embarrassed and even frustrated asking. I'm using the AxeFx III tuner. I spend the majority of the time trying to get tuning correct and it's never sounds correct to me. Tuning for recording is driving me nuts and kinda kills the flow with the amount of finicky time spent.

Also, when recording ... Do you guys use the AxeFX as the interface and run the daw session through it or just use the AxeFx as an input (I use UAD Apollo interfaces) ... asking for latency purposes ... hard to find these answers to simple questions. I currently Use USB recording and use just the Axe as an input and the output is my Apollo ... My axe outputs on the back go to a 2nd set of monitors for monitoring the guitar and I'm not monitoring in the daw, just using the Apollo as playback of the session while recording

Here's an example of the recordings we do to give an idea .. Velvet Revolver cover of 'Slither'

I think you can probably hear the tuning issues more with this Zep cover of Dancing Days ... especially in the chorus but to my ear they both examples sound out of tune

Any advice or help would be much appreciated .. oh, I did search ... many hours searching

Last edited:
Sample rate mismatch maybe? Set everything (interfaces, DAW project) to 48 kHz, 24 bit to avoid any mismatches or on-the-fly resampling.