Tone Match not working

Can someone post a step by step video again on how to tone match using a recorded isolated track from youtube and then using your own guitar thru the axe. Please show what settings should be set on the axe. When I tried this method the tone match sounded really strange, very thin. I watched the tutorial that used John Petruccis solo guitar as the reference and the USA lead on the axe as the patch but when I tried this I got nowhere near a match. I might be doing something wrong so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

There are a few videos on youtube already. here is a good one

Thanks dpeterson for the video. This is the video I have watched several times but when I try it it just doesnt work. I still cant figure out what I am doing wrong. Maybe a certain setting or cable hookup? not sure.

Hmm I'm by no means an expert but what I did was the same as the video. Dial in an amp similar play the same riffs. I'll try some more stuff and see if I can help further.

Hmm I'm by no means an expert but what I did was the same as the video. Dial in an amp similar play the same riffs. I'll try some more stuff and see if I can help further.
I just tried the tone match again but with the same results. The sound comes out real thin and tinny.Very weird

I just tried the tone match again but with the same results. The sound comes out real thin and tinny.Very weird
What are you matching to? A clean, dry, isolated recording, or one with effects? Reverb, for instance, can throw off the match. And make sure you aren't running a Cab block.

Hmmm......I use a Cab block before the 'Tone Match' block almost exclusively? I mostly use the 'Tone Match' as a corrective EQ (typically dialed back). Lots of other factors affect 'Tone Matching' success.

Hmmm......I use a Cab block before the 'Tone Match' block almost exclusively? I mostly use the 'Tone Match' as a corrective EQ (typically dialed back). Lots of other factors affect 'Tone Matching' success.