dvon88

Hey all,

I'm new to the Fractal world and just got a 3. I'm trying to tone match a bunch of my heads and running into serious difficulty. No matter what I do, the tone match sounds like absolute garbage. I've been trying to do this by DI'ing the head, both with and without a cab simulator (using the same IR on the Axe as in the DAW) and it just sounds horrifying. Even without using a cab sim it creates this super harsh mid tone that sounds like the speakers are exploding and also a ridiculous amount of treble.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Especially a very in depth, step by step, hold my damn hand through the process of plugging everything in and performing a tone match. I've read the manual, watched several videos (keep up the awesome work Mr Leon Todd! @2112 ) but I can't seem to get it to sound like anything other than crap. I'm probably missing some stupid simple step.

Apparently I can't upload an audio file to the forum here even though its like 5 seconds long, but I have audio of my reference file and the tone "matched" file I can send through an email or something.

Last edited:
Hey all,

I'm new to the Fractal world and just got a 3. I'm trying to tone match a bunch of my heads...

Apparently I can't upload an audio file to the forum here even though its like 5 seconds long, but I have audio of my reference file and the tone "matched" file I can send through an email or something.

I believe you may need only 5 posts before you can include attachments, so perhaps make a few generic posts and you’re good. Cheers

What's your signal chain?
Using the built in Tone Match template.

In1>amp>cab>out1
>out3

Out 3 to amp in, amp out to Torpedo Captor (without cab sim), back in to Axe. Obviously this does not run the cab sim. I've tried changing the input to USB as well and recorded the raw head DI and then added a cab sim on top of it and it sounds fine, but as soon as I try to match it, the match sounds absolutely disgusting.