Tone Challenge: Ball and Biscuit (White Stripes)

ninja9

Inspired
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2Iyfrymydc&feature=fvst

Love the raunchy tone. I think it's two amps, a Fender Twin Reverb and a Selmer Truvoice Zodiac Twin 30 (don't know much about this one). Also there may be a fuzz driving one or both of the amps. I'd like to match the reverb as well. Is that a plate?

I'm trying to nail it but if anyone else is interested then let me know if you can get close.

Cheers

Ninjas and shodans in here, so I had to jump in. Do you study Aikido, Shodan? I'd love to hear the Axe do this tone, too. Big White Stripes fan here. Doesn't Jack White typically use a Sears Silvertone amp?

Ninjas and shodans in here, so I had to jump in. Do you study Aikido, Shodan? I'd love to hear the Axe do this tone, too. Big White Stripes fan here. Doesn't Jack White typically use a Sears Silvertone amp?

Received my black belt in Brazilian Jiu-jitsu about ten years ago.

Right on. I studied Aikido for many years, and getting your black belt was called your "shodan". I didn't know other martial arts used that term, but that's obviously a "duh" moment now hehe

Received my black belt in Brazilian Jiu-jitsu about ten years ago.

Thanks for the bumps guys, I thought I was alone on this one. I found the following information about recording Elephant.

Actually he used a Selmer instead of the Silvertones for that album:

Tracking an Elephant

"There's no digital stuff at Toerag Studios-not even Pro Tools," says White. "They even hide the CD burner under a table!" To track Elephant, the vintage-sound zealot found a soul brother in Toerag Studios' owner/engineer Liam Watson, who has been tracking artists in his London, England, studio the old-fashioned way since 1991.