1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Tip: Adjustable Lead Volume

Discussion in 'AX8 Discussion' started by Johan Allard, Jan 25, 2017.

  1. Johan Allard

    Johan Allard
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi guys,

    Every so often there's someone asking how you boost your lead volume and by how much, and there's usually a range of tips including scene output volume and null filter blocks.

    One thing that I haven't seen covered before is how to adjust the lead volume on the fly. At first this might seem kind of silly, but I've found with my band that usually 3-4dB volume boost will get me there, but every so often, the rest of the band digs in a bit more on that day, or in that venue, it's not enough and I wish I had a bit more, just when playing lead.

    Another thing is that a 4dB boost is way too much when playing at home to recordings for practice.

    So today I added another mini-knob from This1smyne.com, the one that sits between the Polytune and the Wireless receiver.

    [​IMG]

    I have then attached that to a Null Filter block, with a modifier for the volume as follows:

    [​IMG]

    I found that when I added a bit of gain to this scene, it added about 2dB of volume so when I turn the knob all the way off it really is unity volume, or engaging me lead scene with the knob turned all the way off gives no increase in volume - perfect for when playing home. I can still press all the buttons as I would live.

    I then aim to normally put the knob in the middle (and I've adjusted the knob so that's when the dial points at 12 o'clock) and that gives me my normal lead boost of 4dB for this preset (6dB - -2dB = 8dB, 8dB/2 = 4db) but if I want, or need, I'm only half way and I can increase my lead volume another 4dB - no one can stop me now :)

    This can obviously be adjusted per preset as well. I have another preset for pop-songs, and then 3dB lead boost normally works fine so in that preset I adjust the null filter between 0 and 6dB. That means that the normal in the middle value is my 3dB lead boost.

    I think this will prove very handy with my band!

    Enjoy!
     
    GtarLover, 5150, scottp and 10 others like this.
  2. muttonhead

    muttonhead
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    118
    Great tip,John. Are those little volume pedals from this1smine?
     
  3. Johan Allard

    Johan Allard
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yep, http://this1smyne.com/shop/me-mini-expression-pedal/. I think its the 10k ones but I don't think it matters since you calibrate them with the Ax8 (or MFC) anyway.
     
  4. ChristThePhone

    ChristThePhone
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Location:
    Germany
    I have the same problem during our rehearsal sessions but I use a volume pedal.
     
    RLD and Johan Allard like this.
  5. Sonicsam

    Sonicsam
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Belgium
    IMG_1076.JPG I made one myself, I think with a 100K resistor...
     
    pima1234 and Johan Allard like this.
  6. Gyansistem

    Gyansistem
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    ITALY/Macerata
    Hi, with my band for live.. i used null filter.. setting 6 db... is good... for me...
     
    pima1234 and Johan Allard like this.
  7. Sruli

    Sruli
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    70
    I have been doing this ever since I have been using Fractal! Using the same knob as well.
     
    pima1234 likes this.
  8. Geezerjohn

    Geezerjohn
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    I just use the null filter in each preset, but this looks like a good idea. Thanks for the tip!
     
    scottp likes this.
  9. Jerry K.

    Jerry K.
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Thanks for the tip. As stated, you could also use the null filter but use x/y to have 4 db on one and 6 db on the other.
     
  10. Jeff Engler

    Jeff Engler
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    colorado
    I just attach an exp pedal to cab level. It's before delay/reverb so it does't disturb those and sounds natural. Set it to whatever range you need. No extra block needed.
     
  11. ChristThePhone

    ChristThePhone
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Location:
    Germany
    I guess the point was to control the lead volume level only without changing the rhythm level so an extra block would be required.
     
  12. Jeff Engler

    Jeff Engler
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    colorado
    heal down rythmn .toe down lead. Set the range appropriately. Could even be done with a control switch.
     
  13. Stratmatt

    Stratmatt
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    21
    Interesting tips here. It can be a tricky one as like has been said, if the band is digging in then the 4db null filter doesn't quite cut it. I've been using 5 band GEQ with a bit of mid range and 3.5db boost. I do find though that with the extra mids it can clip the patch of there is already comp and some dirt going. I will try the x/y filter trick.
     
  14. WERNER1

    WERNER1
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Belleville, IL
    Stupid question time,... I'm just getting around to setting up my AX8 and was thinking about the whole "Lead db boost" thing,.. I was originally thinking about just using an x/y setting to change parameters or something to that effect?..

    (sorry,.. don't mean to hi-jack :eek: )
     
  15. Jammer77

    Jammer77
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Oregon
    I did that at first but there will always be a gap when switching X/Y even if the same amp. A better way is to use Control Switch to change gain and levels since there is no gap. You can assign CTL 1 to a foot switch in place of amp X/Y.
     
    scottp likes this.
  16. Kidmag

    Kidmag
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Others with way more knowledge and experience should chime in, but I don't think switching x/y amps is a great way. In fact I try to avoid using the x/y at all. When I change x/y in a block, I notice a little silent gap as the new block loads - this hurts the internal mojo I got going. I think you would want to use a controller to effect a volume parameter (in a filter block for example), or click on/off a block that provides a volume boost.
     
  17. WERNER1

    WERNER1
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Belleville, IL
    hmmm.... well I have an SP-1 coming with a switch, so maybe I could have that set up as my lead boost.... I had kind of thought of that as my default wah wah though...
     
  18. jmillion

    jmillion
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    88
    Now THAT is a good idea. Thanks.
     
  19. Johan Allard

    Johan Allard
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The trick with my setup compared to x/y null filters is that's its global across presets, as long as you configure the modifier on each preset. Where's with x/y null filter, each time you switch scene or preset and you want to use the 6dB Y state, you'll have to manually switch as both scenes and preset changes will revert to the stored x/y state. This in turn also means that you need to use a foot switch for the filter block. My lead volume change will work even if you only set the lead filter on or off via a scene (like I do).
     
  20. scottp

    scottp
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I like the Null Filter. Mine is set for between 3-4 db.
    After I started using the Null, I realized I have been creating my patches a little over 0 VU.
    And like as mentioned above if you have Comp on then add Null you can get clipping.
    So as I create new patches I keep that in mind and set the output level on the VU meter to just under 0.

    Another thing to keep in mind, if using IEM's, when adding a volume boost, you may have a hard time hearing the rest of the band!
     
    Pettymusic likes this.

Share This Page