1. Recent events require us to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. July 27 2018 - support.fractalaudio.com is temporarily down for updates. Please use this forum for support or see the "News" section here for additional details. Thank you.
    Dismiss Notice

Time out problems back with 9.04?

Discussion in 'Axe-Edit (Gen I, II only)' started by addedc, Feb 10, 2018.

  1. addedc

    addedc
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Love the new firmware, but I am now having an endless "Please wait communicating message" now when I try to use AX edit. This happened with 8.04 but I followed M@tt's advice to buy a recommended USB cable and that solved it. Cable isn't cutting it for this. Anyone else experience and find a solutions?
     
  2. Etudica

    Etudica
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Central PA
    I'm still struggling with timeouts here on my XL+. I never had an issue since upgrading to the XL+ a year ago, but ever 9.02 (i think) the timeouts began. Happens whether MFC is connected or not. I haven't had time to try to revert back through all the firmwares to narrow it down, but I don't play out live anymore so it's more of an annoyance for me. I'm about to reset system params and reflash 9.04 again...
     
    addedc likes this.
  3. addedc

    addedc
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Thanks. Mine connected today so will see what happens.
     
  4. Warrior

    Warrior
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    433
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    Started having communication timeouts yesterday. Makes it unusable.
    I started using a new interface. I wonder if the drivers have anything to do with it?
     
  5. Heavyplayer

    Heavyplayer
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    229
    I been having timeout issues lately and I'm on FW 9.04. I been using DI tracks in Reaper 5.60, 64bit, WIN 8.1, 64bit.
    Here is how it goes......

    I've got Reaper open and AxeEdit open trying to tweak tones for my DI tracks,
    but to do that I need to use the front panel I/O to use USB.

    After a few mins I get a timeout and AxeEdit won't communicate until I reboot the axe, happens EVERY time. I use a wireless remote mouse and the dials go nuts, example, bass will go from 5 to 9, or 1 to 7, this is for ALL adjustments.

    But yet not using reaper I can use Edit for hours using the same mouse with no glitch, and works as expected.
    So, as of now edit is useless for reamping or anything DI related. For me any way. Hope this gets sorted out.
     
  6. Webby

    Webby
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have a very similar scenario.
    Axe edit works perfectly for hours when used alone. As soon as I open a pro tools file and use axe edit at the same time, time outs occur.

    Likewise with any other program where USB audio is used such as Garageband, iTunes, iRealpro etc. I'm using a 2015 MacBook Pro.

    Hoping there's a solution too
     
  7. BAKE

    BAKE
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Commerce Ga.
    I get "timeouts" all the time when I'm using the "manage presets section" doing copy/paste the same preset over and over it goes in "timeout " after about 5 saves out of 25 presets.
     
  8. Heavyplayer

    Heavyplayer
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    229
    Any update on this issue? Happens on Win 10 as well.
     
  9. Etudica

    Etudica
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Central PA
    Still on 9.04, still getting timeouts. It just happened again without USB connected and while scrolling through bank A factory presets on my MFC. Trying to make sense of it but it keeps surprising me.
     
  10. MrGuitarabuse

    MrGuitarabuse
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    China/Hong Kong
    Same here, randomly, Win10. latest everything else
     
  11. jarabuandi

    jarabuandi
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    BNE - Australia
    There's been plenty of posts about this. Yes, it's still an issue....and random. Several users (and I'm one of them) believe that the issue is happening when using the Axe as an audio interface. Personally, I never have timeout issues when just playing and editing with Axe-Edit w/o any music going through the Axe. YMMV
     
  12. MrGuitarabuse

    MrGuitarabuse
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    China/Hong Kong
    Audio interface eiy... good catch, from what i remember I think this issue always happened when connected with REAPER and AXE-FX as interface.

    thanks will check that out
     
  13. jarabuandi

    jarabuandi
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    BNE - Australia
    I'm pretty sure that was the initial thought of many here, but I never used a DAW. I said it from day one, only my Axe 2 and MFC connected via USB to the MAC. Never had an issue and as many other have said (me included) it started with Q8.
     
  14. ElectricPhase

    ElectricPhase
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    swinging from the chandelier
    Is there a series of troubleshooting steps for this problem. I never had it until a couple of days ago. Now I can't get Ave Edit to work no matter what I do. No hardware or software changes that I can identify.
     
  15. Malvolio

    Malvolio
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    42
    Going back to firmware version Quantum 7 is probably your best bet.
     
  16. ElectricPhase

    ElectricPhase
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    swinging from the chandelier
    Thanks for the suggestion, but I have been using every version of Q8 and Q9 successfully since they come out. The problem only just started now. In that context, downgrading doesn't make much sense.
     
  17. jarabuandi

    jarabuandi
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    BNE - Australia
    It seems like you need to un-install and re-install Axe-edit. Maybe do the same with the drivers. Both can be downloaded from the Fractal web site. That won't probably solve the timeout issue but at least gives you back the Axe-Edit.
     
    ElectricPhase likes this.
  18. ElectricPhase

    ElectricPhase
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    swinging from the chandelier
    Thanks. A complete uninstall and reinstall of all Fractal software solved the problem for me.
     
    jarabuandi likes this.
  19. Andrew Male

    Andrew Male
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    319
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Yup still happening when reading/editing a preset with usb audio playing. Latest OSX and Win10 on a macbook air.
     
  20. #20 addedc, Apr 14, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
    addedc

    addedc
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Ax8Edit still works with my AX8 I use for gigs. But in my studio, with my II, the timeout problem kept getting worse since 9.04. Today, the timeouts didn't resolve after rebooting and now it won't even connect, even after I reinstalled all the software. This is frustrating. I'd rather be playing guitar.

    BTW I am on Windows 10 and using the high quality USB cable Admin M@tt recommended. Fractal USBAudio Control Panel shows up in my active process. The box for selecting a USB Audio device is greyed out but shows Fractal AXFX II. Sample rate is 48K
     

Share This Page