Three Guitars at Once?

MiahMW

Hi all! I'm brand new to the world of Axe FX, but I've been watching and studying info on it (and other processors) for a while now. I was told this is the place to go for this question, so I apologize ahead of time if the answer is super obvious. Again, I'm brand new to this.

I'm wanting my five piece Speed-Metal band's rig to go full-digital and pedal-free. I'm wanting to utilize the Axe FX 3 for my three guitarists (two Guitarists who share dual rhythms and leads, and one bassist). We would utilize a Cymatic Audio LP-16 Live Player to handle automatic midi switches. Not that we would have many, as we're just straight forward Speed-Metal. The only sound changes we would have is switching a rhythm tone to a lead tone and virtual capo for the songs that require it. Yes, we don't want to switch out guitars mid-show either, so we REALLY want the virtual capo to be our answer for that.

The big question is, can the Axe FX 3 handle it all? Can you indeed, plug two guitarists and one bassist into a single Axe FX 3? And if so, could it process them all? Along with just not knowing for sure if it can take three axes at once, that CPU cap has truly been a big reason for us holding out and not taking the dive into Fractal-land.

Does this set-up sound do-able?

Thanks ahead of time, to anyone willing to help a newbie out. I'll be happy to give any more info on the set-up you may need. Just ask!

-Miah

Depends on how "effects-rich" you want your presets. What's you current pedalboard like? All 3 of you.
You have 15 days to try an Axe Fx 3. Unless someone here can rig up a typical preset that you'd be likely to use, to see what the CPU usage is at, you might have to just buy one and get your guys together during that 15 day window, and see if it will work for you. In theory, it's possible, but it'll depend on how many blocks you'll need in your presets.