1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Three amps - wet/dry/wet setup: is FX8 right for me?

Discussion in 'Rigs and Routing' started by caseygree, Jan 22, 2018.

  1. caseygree

    caseygree
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    4
    howdy,

    I have a JCM800, a Budda Superdrive and a Naylor Electra-verb.

    I'd like to run all three in a wet/dry/wet setup, likely with the Budda as the dry amp.

    Is this possible to route with the FX8? AX8?
    Or do I need a stereo power amp in there somewhere?

    I'd likely be using a mix of Fractal effects + some outboard effects.

    Thanks,
    Case
     
  2. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    Possible with FX8/AX8 and Y splitter. Separate power amp not required.
     
  3. caseygree

    caseygree
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks!

    like a Y cable or a one of those ABY switcher thingies?
     
  4. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    Y cable might work good enough but I'd probably look for a splitter box designed for this sort of thing.
     
  5. Muad'zin

    Muad'zin
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    689
    A buffered splitter with isolation is always preferable when splitting to multiple amps then a Y cable. The last thing you want is unwanted noise.
     
  6. caseygree

    caseygree
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    4
    You guys have a reco on a good one to consider?
    thanks,
    Case
     
  7. caseygree

    caseygree
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    4
    Here is my current setup. Can someone help me fill in the blanks on where place/hook things (including the ABY switch) for a 3-amp setup, using the AX8 for stereo effects, but sill with the outboard delay in the AX8 loop? I prefer not to 'slave' any of the amps if possible.

    1. Guitar > Boss TU-2 (Out 1) > Naylor input
    2. Boss TU-2 (Bypass Out 2) > Budda Input
    2. Naylor effects send > Ax8 instrument input
    3. Ax8 Out 2L > Hughes and Kettner Replex tube delay
    4. Replex Out > Ax8 In 2L
    5. Ax8 Out 1L > Naylor effects return
    6. JCM800???
     
  8. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    Do you want to use any AX8 effects before any preamp section? It would probably be easiest to route for that anyway and set the H&K delay aside for now as it seems to be mono.

    Gtr > AX8 instrument in

    AX8 Output 2L > Y Splitter > Naylor/JCM inputs

    AX8 Output 2R > Budda input

    Naylor/JCM fx send > AX8 Input 2 L/R

    AX8 Output 1 L/R > Naylor/JCM loop return
     
  9. caseygree

    caseygree
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks! Will give this a go
     
  10. caseygree

    caseygree
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    4
    Friday afternoon experiment:

    I want to run my Naylor Electraverb combo into a stereo poweramp out to two cabs for a w/d/w setup.

    Do I still need a Y-splitter in this scenario, or can the AX8 accomplish this without one?
     

Share This Page