1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Three Amp Blocks?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Aug 2, 2018.

?

Would you actually use three amp blocks in a preset?

  1. Yes

    365 vote(s)
    74.8%
  2. No

    123 vote(s)
    25.2%
  1. #301 GreatGreen, Jan 11, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
    GreatGreen

    GreatGreen
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    628
    I think 3 amp blocks (12 amp channels) *could* be useful if they were accompanied by more scenes per patch or something, but it would probably be too much of a pain to access them in the Axe-Fx III's current 8-scene implementation

    We can already give each scene each its own individual amp channel, so anything beyond that would need a bunch of foot switch pressing to access, and at that point you might as well change patches.

    I suppose you could run 3 amps blended together but that seems kind of like just looking for an excuse to use the capability. Like what can you really do with 3 amp channels that you can't already do with 2? Or with 2 plus the 2nd amp split into two signals and a drive pedal added to one of them, etc?
     
    Genghis likes this.
  2. hippietim

    hippietim
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,413
    Likes Received:
    2,473
    Prepare for tha onslaught of tales of woe about how artistically constrained people are because of the two amp limitation and how they would ideally run 4. So 3 is an artistic compromise but somehow they’ll make the brootalz.

    :p
     
    Syrinx and bradlake like this.
  3. Perdikament

    Perdikament
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    FL
    If I only had 5, I could finally realize the tone I’ve been hearing in my head all these years.. I just know it! ;)
     
  4. hippietim

    hippietim
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,413
    Likes Received:
    2,473
    Wall of Pignose? ;)
     
    Perdikament, Daveis and Shaw like this.
  5. Capt Nasty

    Capt Nasty
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    95
    When this thread was first posted I voted for 3 amp blocks and I think commented to that effect.

    I had just recieved my Axe III and was new to the platform. Now with time under my belt and considerably more experience, I I now understand channels and scenes better. I would say that while three amp blocks might be nice, 2 amp blocks + 4 channels + 8 scenes gives me everything I will ever want or need.

    If we get three amp blovks, great it is another option. If we do not I think that I will somehow find a way to survive.:D
     
    markmurtha likes this.
  6. bdrepko

    bdrepko
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posted this before, but seems appropriate.

    Axe-Edit-III-2018-04-30-16-08-37.png
     
  7. Walt's Frozen Head

    Walt's Frozen Head
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    26
    I think it would also be nice just from the standpoint of giving the user as much freedom as possible.
     
  8. AlGrenadine

    AlGrenadine
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    6,166
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Can this thread be renamed "Four amp blocks"?
    Computers like powers of 2
     
    DLC86, markmurtha and Don Watters like this.
  9. guitarcal

    guitarcal
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    The CPU usage seems a little low. ;)
     
  10. Rekster

    Rekster
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    23
    In my situation I would certainly require the third cab block. I want to run guitar with two amp/cab blocks (in stereo) and bass with it's own amp/cab block.
     
    Perdikament and AlGrenadine like this.
  11. Perdikament

    Perdikament
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    FL
    Wait, couldn’t we split one cab Block and run two amp Blocks amp into one cab Block but then split the cab Block so each amp has its own separate Cab inside the cab Block? One L one R ..? Just pan them. Then one amp up the middle in amp 2 cab 2. That’s still not full functionality but gets each amp its own separate Cab.
     
  12. Piing

    Piing
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    967
    Location:
    Thailand
    10. I need 10 Amps and 20 Cabs to fulfill my needs!
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Perdikament

    Perdikament
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    FL
    I didn’t even notice that guitar there.. lol
     
  14. BillyZeppa

    BillyZeppa
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    It was a bit of a surprise for me the first time I ran multiple amps at once years ago. Two amps didn't sound twice as good as one amp.
    It didn't even really sound 'better', mostly just maybe more versatile. So not being rich I stuck with one amp.
    Are any people finding two amps at once the magic sauce for their tone?
     
    King’s X - Jason likes this.
  15. Don Watters

    Don Watters
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think John Mayer runs three amps for his tone.

    Not saying that it’s optimal or that I’d want that or it’s needed, but some people do like the sound of mixing multiple amps.
     
    BillyZeppa likes this.
  16. shatteredsquare

    shatteredsquare
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    334
    run two amps into one IR, best tone I ever found in real life was a TA-30 combo into one side of a mesa 4x12 and a dual rec into the other. It blends IN the cab, sounds amazing, don't use hardly any gain :D
     
    BillyZeppa likes this.
  17. trixdropd

    trixdropd
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    19
    brad paisley uses 4 amps...
     
    Axehole and BillyZeppa like this.
  18. #318 King’s X - Jason, Jan 11, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019 at 8:42 AM
    King’s X - Jason

    King’s X - Jason
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Austin
    I love using the Yamaha THR100HD. It is essentially two amps in one. Sounds sick when running complimentary amps. I use the modern voice with EL84’s class A on one side and the lead voice with EL34’s class AB on the other. It sounds like 3D stereo... whatever that is. LOL.

    It is addictive and inspiring tone.
     
    shatteredsquare and BillyZeppa like this.
  19. BillyZeppa

    BillyZeppa
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Cool. Do you know if they are different models?
     
  20. flying_walrus

    flying_walrus
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Bonnamassa has always used multiple amps at the same time, and his tone is OK. I believe he’s currently using 2 twins and 2 dumbles.

    At the other end of the spectrum, I believe James Hatfield uses a mark IIC and a diezel (within the axefx) at the same time.
     
    BillyZeppa likes this.

Share This Page