1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on a rack case please!

Discussion in 'Rigs and Routing' started by Solitudezoso, May 25, 2018.

  1. Solitudezoso

    Solitudezoso
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    I want to get a new rack case cos mine is a little bit broken. I own an axe fx 2 xl and currently use a gator case 4u 19 in deep I believe. I have cab that's maybe 12 in deep and so the rack case almost looks disproportional. Any thoughts on the shallow 4u 14.25 by gator? Will that just be too small for the axe fx 2?
     
  2. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,333
    Likes Received:
    4,019
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Get a tape measure and measure your Axe Fx then compare to inside dimensions of the rack you want (normally listed in the specs).

    I don't think you'd be able to get the lids on... But it might work.

    Also, which specific case, because they have a couple variants that are Roto molded or not.
     
  3. waxcalifornia

    waxcalifornia
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    35
    I had the 12" deep 2 Space OSP ATA Rack Case and it fit the XL+ I had perfect. The back of the AxeFx stuck out a little bit, but not more than the inside of the covers. As long as you don't need to keep cables connected it will work for you.

    OSP Rack Case

    Everything I found was way too deep for the cab I had it on.
     
  4. Roland

    Roland
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    165
    I use the short Gator case. It’s 13 inches deep with the front and back covers removed. The Axe FX II fits with the covers in place, and there’s even space to coil a few cables too.
     
  5. #5 gigawatt, Jun 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2018
    gigawatt

    gigawatt
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    239
    https://www.musiciansfriend.com/acc...vD_BwE&kwid=39474984916x42814104161x151905500

    "Stackable shallow rack case fits equipment up to 14-1/4"." I just bought the 6 space version, Axe III would have to be 3U, (BTW Musician's Friend was the best deal I could find without going used). It's a nice case, some peeps have complained about it like; the latches being smaller and weaker than that of SKB, (I don't find that to be the case). Or that the handles have come loose, (they must be throwing it on a train). My friend has had an Ultra, an amp, and a power conditioner in the 4U for 10 years with no issues. Hope that helps :).

    Oh, one last thing: Unlike SKB cases, the Gator has no rubber feet, so it can slide around. I'd recommend getting some stick on rubber feet from Home Depot, there cheep. Pick one and buy extras. ;);) ...especially if you're going to use it on top of a 412 cab. :oops:
     
  6. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,333
    Likes Received:
    4,019
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    I bought the 6 space for housing my Axe Fx III. Pretty solid rack... No problems so far with lids, latches or slipping.

    It does stink though... Very much petroleum based materia!.

    One thing I don't really like is that the rack rails are not threaded, nor do they have holes big enough for the clip on nuts. There is a thin, metal strip that is threaded that goes behind each rail. However, you can use both front and back.
     
    gigawatt likes this.
  7. #7 gigawatt, Jun 6, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2018
    gigawatt

    gigawatt
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    239
    Just to clarify, it's not that thin, I'd say it's just under 1/8", and I doubt you could strip it. I actually like it and think it's a good idea, until you take all the screws out and it falls to the ground. :oops: The spring clips to me were a pain in the ass on the SKB cases, I had four of them and always seemed to be short a clip when I needed one. :mad:

    Oh and thankfully, mine doesn't stink. o_O
     
    unix-guy likes this.

Share This Page