Thoughts on a bank of basic presets

rp911

Inspired
I've been playing guitar for 30 years now, mostly through Fender amps. I think the AxeFX is terrific.

I have heard a lot of gripes from newbies like me about the presets, and I understand that they are just designed to show some of the capabilities of the effects, and so forth. And I also understand that not everyone uses the AxeFX the same way ... FRFR, through a power amp and cab, in the effects loop of another amp, etc.

One of the biggest challenges for me is just knowing how to properly set up full-range simulations of the various amp types. For example, I am not familiar with a lot of the amps -- Fryette, TrainWreck, Engl -- that the Axe is so adept at emulating. And, I wouldn't have the slightest idea of the typical settings on a plexi or an AC-30, or a Boogie, to get their well-known sounds, even basics like where to put the master and gain controls -- though I am sure I would recognize them if I heard them. And it goes beyond basic settings, to which cabinets are typically used with which amps, and what sort of speakers you would put in them.