Thornbucker pickups - odd high end?

unix-guy

Master of RTFM
Does anyone here with Thornbucker pickups find them to have an unusual high end response?

I've been spending a lot of time with my new Charvel DK-24 USA HSS guitar and when I started playing my Suhr Modern HSH I found the top end to be very unpleasant to my ears.

I tend to be sensitive to high end and find it can be really annoying to my ears but I also suck with EQs...

In any case, the Suhr has a Thornbucker in the neck, a V63 in the middle and a Thornbucker+ in the bridge. The Charvel has Duncan Flat Strat SSL-6 in neck and middle (RWRP) and Duncan Full Shred in the bridge.

I feel like any pickup combo on the Suhr has more high end than the brightest setting on the Charvel... Seems odd that HBs would out-bright a single coil.

This is particularly noticable when using IEMs.

There is another thread here where someone mentioned having a guitar that had an annoying high end even thru pickup changes and finally resolved the problem after replacing a "bad" tone pot capacitor. I've done some googling and from what I can tell the type of also used in that application can't really go bad...

I don't recall hearing this before I sent the guitar back to Suhr to work on fixing some dead notes as well as rewiring it to change the pickup switching. It now has push pots on volume and tone for switching the HBs from series to parallel, and the middle position is neck+bridge.

Overall I like the Thornbucker pickups in series aside from this. The parallel mode or any setting that splits with the middle pickup is way too thin for my tastes.

Anyway, I'm not really sure how to tackle this. I've tried using the Input EQ in the Amp block and also the tone knob on the guitar to tame it but I don't like the results.

Appreciate any input.