Taking the final plunge.

bishop5150

Fractal Fanatic
I've been using an Axe-Fx since 2013. Currently have the XL along with an AX8 that I've been gigging for about a year now while the XL stays at home. During this time I've still owned tube amps. Well, this weekend I guess I'm fully committing to the Fractal family and selling my last tube amp. This will be the first time since 1991 that I have not owned a 100 watt amp and 4x12 cab. But, I'm fully committed to my Fractal rigs. My tube amps have been collecting dust over the last year. So time to go and find new homes. I sold one halfstack about 9 months ago and another about a week ago and my last one is leaving the nest this weekend. The end of an era. But I will not miss them. As far as I'm concerned I have the ultimate guitar rig. Thank you Fractal for these amazing pieces of gear.

Last edited:
Congrats, bro! Either it feels bittersweet, or like a weight has been lifted off.

I never play my old rig, but keep it for sentimental value haha. I guess I'm more of a bittersweet guy.

I was holding on to them for sentimental value but now with a teenager who drives and graduating high school this year I think some extra cash outweighs that nostalgia sitting in the corner collecting dust. LOL!

Last edited:
I'm afraid to say I'm hording about 10 amps still :)

I'm mainly a Fender guy so no 4x12 cabs. I do have a sweet vintage Marshall JCM800 50w head but only a Marshall 2x12 to go with it.

Sounds like a very reasonable decision! I've owned a Fractal product since buying my Ultra from them years ago. With my original AxeFXII I can't imagine going back to my tube amps, but I still can't make myself sell my Mesa Boogie Mark IIC- that I called and ordered in 1983. Nostalgia I suppose. Cheers!

I still have one tube amp
Fender Champion 600
One switch one volume no tone controls
Volume is always maxed and control everything from the guitar.
Meat and potatoes as you get.
I like practicing with it makes me fight a bit