Wish Synth block: Replace the Hz by the matching notes (A1, A#1, B1..., A2, A#2, B2..., An, A#n, ...) + MIDI notes

psimon666

Hi,

a) For me, as a musician, i use notes. I never use Hz. Today, i always need a table to convert Notes to Hz to have a specific note with the Synth.
There could be a toggle button to choose between the two modes, but finally, is there a musician that is happier with Hz ?

b) To go a bit further: Once this point done, this block could then react to external Midi notes (from a DAW, a keyboard, an external hardware sequencer, or whatever), to directly play the synth at the right pitch. This would be a great feature (example: when using the Synth block with the Vocoder block)

Thanks in advance and Hi to all

Don’t you just leave it to default frequency and change the pitch/semi tone control?

The default value/frequency match no real note.
A "C" is 65.41 Hz (or 130.81 Hz, and so on...),
A "C#" is 69.30 Hz,
etc.
well, it's rarely simple to convert.
Shifting solves nothing of course : you always need a real note before shifting

Nevertheless, you never know where you are with frequencies (I think there is only a very few guys in the world who can convert frequencies to notes, just like this :) ).
In fact, i see no obvious process with frequencies. Engineers works with frequencies, yes. Musicians with notes, yes. Both are interesting, but it's not the same world.

Last edited:
I had a preset on my Ax8 that played 2 synth tones and getting the notes from Hz took some extra time to get it done via internet searches. This would be a nice quality of life change but I'm not sure if it would be implemented unless you could set a master table or something. Different people use different Hz for the same notes.

@creativespiral: Yes, i saw your reply, but you don't explain 'how', so it's not easy to see your working context.
But, well, both ways can co-exist, there is no problem. It's not a way against another.