Sweet Child 'O' V9 (Added Full Track + Preset)

xpenno

Power User
Hi guys,

My band finally decided to start looking at a cover of Sweet Child 'O' Mine which I have played for many a year but never really tried to get the tone spot on. I got about an hour alone so thought I'd have a go. It's as close to what Slash was supposed to have used as possible, which is basically a crank'd Plexi2 into the 4x12 V30 cab and an SM58. Add a Cathedral Rev, Studio Comp and some EQ and this is about as close as I can get. Guitar is Les Paul 59 reissue direct into AxeFX, AxeFX direct into Motu and then Sonar. No post processing at all.

http://www.eclecticbluemusic.co.uk/axefx/sweetchild.mp3

Let me know what you think?

Cheers

Spence

Ok I decided to add the full backing track, I am still learning it but I think it sounds OK, everything the same as before just added the (slightly more uptempo) backing track :D

http://www.eclecticbluemusic.co.uk/axefx/sweetchildOV9.mp3

And here is the preset.

[attachment=0:fw7xyrdx]SweetChildV9.syx[/attachment:fw7xyrdx]

Attachments

• SweetChildV9.syx
    2 KB · Views: 198
Re: Sweet Child 'O' V9

Hi Spence,
I don't have the orignal at hand and I listen through little speakers at very low volume. But I'm sure it's at least close enough to trick every audience on this planet. :shock:

Be sure to get a curly wig and a big hat. And you have to smoke during the playing ... :lol:

Well done! Rock the house!

Micha

Thanks everybody :)

I've just had a quick Jam along to the whole song on a backing track that I found on my hard disk. I'm not fully up to speed on all of it yet though plus the backing track is faster and in standard tuning and I have a monster set of strings on my Les Paul at the moment (my covers band tune down a tone) and the quick runs are hard work! I'll sort out another guitar and have a bash at some point :)

Thanks again

Spence